Tim Elhajj

Off the Microsoft stack!

What Does Miley Cyrus Have to Do With Harry Potter?

1 Comment

Microsoft.

At least, this past weekend these three unlikely partners came together for a few hours.

My division had a morale event for the premiere of the new Harry Potter movie. They rented an entire theater in downtown Bellevue for shows throughout the day Saturday. I love the Potter series and had been eagerly awaiting this movie. Developer division generously provided for me and three guests. And I just so happen to have twelve-year-old twins and a wife who also love Harry Potter.

Meanwhile, Microsoft also opened one of its new stores in downtown Bellevue this weekend, with a Miley Cyrus concert to promote it. My daughter loves Miley Cyrus. I was tempted to stand in the long lines to get us tickets, but she had swim team practice and I had work. And we had tickets to Harry Potter!

So I decided not to tell her about it.

I would have gotten away with it, too, but I didn’t realize the Cyrus concert was 100 yards from the theater. My wife dropped us off and went in search of parking. As we got out, she said to our daughter, Kennedy, “Go listen to Miley!”

Kennedy looked around: The streets were crowded and you could hear the band playing loud.

“This is Miley Cyrus?” she asked.

“Wait,” she said. “How did Mom know Miley Cyrus was here?”

I felt guilty.

“Microsoft,” I said. “Microsoft opened a new store and asked Miley to sing.”

Kennedy looked at me with such disappointment. Microsoft invites Miley Cyrus to Bellevue and you get us Harry Potter tickets? I felt bad. I can see I am going to have to take her to a Miley Cyrus concert soon. 

Deathly Hallows was fabulous.

We were too cold and hungry to make it to the new store after the movie, but I am sure I’ll check it out before Christmas. I’m certinly a PC, but I have been known to go into the Mac store from time to time. I’m looking forward to seeing how the new Microsoft stores stack up.

Author: Tim Elhajj

Tim is probably walking his dog.

One thought on “What Does Miley Cyrus Have to Do With Harry Potter?

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Movies for 2010 « Present Tense

Leave a comment